Arkansas Criminal Lawyer

What Should I Expect If I Face DUI Charges?

Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is a serious offense in Arkansas. Each year, drunk drivers are involved in thousands of motor vehicle accidents that often result in property damage and serious injuries, often leading to death. Make no mistake about it.  Driving while intoxicated in the state of Arkansas comes with harsh penalties that range from license suspension to incarceration. To curb the epidemic of drunk driving, legislators in Arkansas have passed strict laws and empowered law enforcement with the authority to not only arrest the drunk driver but also to impound the vehicle. If you are facing DUI charges, you need to speak to a DUI defense attorney right away.

What is the legal limit for blood alcohol level in Arkansas?

In Arkansas, one can be charged with a DUI if the blood alcohol level is 0.08% or greater. The BAC for is 0.02%. The legal limit is more strict for minors because drinking and driving is a serious offense and young drivers need to understand the serious repercussions of getting behind the wheel if they have been drinking.

What penalties are imposed for a DUI in Arkansas?

A first time DUI offense in Arkansas is usually classified as a misdemeanor. However, repeat offenses (usually more than 3) are considered a felony. A first time DUI conviction can result in incarceration for 1-365 days or the court may order some form of community service instead. However, there is always a monetary penalty which will range from $200-$1,000.

For a second DUI, you will spend a minimum of 7 days in jail or perform community service for three months. This is also associated with a monetary penalty which ranges from $750-$5,000. The third DUI is penalized in the same way as the 2nd DUI, but a fourth DUI is automatically a felony. This felony is which is punishable by a monetary penalty (usually in excess of $5,000) and incarceration from 1-6 years in a federal prison.

Will my driving privileges be affected if I am charged with a DUI in Arkansas?

If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol andéor drugs, your driving privileges will be suspended.  The duration of suspension may vary depending on how many times you have been arrested for a DUI. For a first time offense, your driving privileges will be suspended for up to 6 months. If you are a repeat offender, the license suspension will typically be a minimum of 24 months.

Do DUI Charges in Arkansas remain on my record?

A DUI in Arkansas will remain in your driving record. In some cases, you could request the courts to erase it from your record if you have successfully completed all the terms of out sentence. 

What happens if I refuse the breathalyzer in Arkansas?

Under Arkansas’s implied consent law, when you are given the privilege to drive, you also automatically agree to submit to a test for alcohol or other chemicals. If you refuse to take the breathalyzer test when stopped by a law enforcement officer who strongly believes you are under the influence, you can be arrested, incarcerated and face a monetary penalty.

If you are facing DUI charges, you need to speak to a DUI defense attorney. A DUI defense lawyer will not help get rid of your conviction but can also help get you a shorter sentence. Driving under the influence of drugs and/or drugs is a serious offense. It is risky for you and for other people who share the road with you. It is always in your interest to not get behind the wheel if you have been drinking. Ask a friend to drive you home. If you don’t have that option, call a cab. But don’t put your life and other people’s lives at risk. It’s not worth it.

Legal Counsel

A DUI conviction can change your entire future. Your license can be suspended or revoked altogether. You can get hurt. You can injure others. Your job prospects can be negatively affected by a DUI conviction on your record. Your credibility can be affected. If you are facing DUI charges, you need to contact our DUI defense attorney at Arkansas Lawyer. Our team is trained to help you deal with this challenge. We also need you to understand that this is not a minor offense. It can have negative consequences in the long-term. Call us today and let us help you deal with this challenge.