Experienced Little Rock DUI Lawyer
When arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, you need a Little Rock DWI lawyer to help you fight your case. The DUI laws in Arkansas are complex, and you need the guidance of a DWI lawyer to guide you through the legal process.
It is illegal to drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Arkansas and getting charged with a DWI is detrimental to your driving record. The laws in Arkansas restrict driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent, even if impairment does not occur at this level. You can also receive a charge of DUI if your BAC is lower than .08 percent, but you display reduced reactions in line with impairment from alcohol consumption.
For certain drivers, the bar for a DUI arrest is much lower. If you are under the age of 21, your BAC must not exceed .02 percent. Commercial driver’s license holders must not have a BAC of .04 percent or more. In both instances, you would lose your driving privileges. No matter your situation, a DUI lawyer can help you understand how your DWI arrest will affect you and the penalties you face with a DUI charge.
DUI Help from Your Little Rock DWI Lawyers
While the only way to prevent an arrest for DUI is to never get behind the wheel when you have been drinking, it is not always easy to know when you have reached the minimum BAC level set by the state and if you are impaired to the point of being unable to drive. You could be tempted to drive even after a few drinks, but this is all the law needs to arrest you for DUI charges.
A DUI arrest can occur to even the most careful of drinkers. You may feel alright and able to drive after you have had few drinks. In actuality, no matter how much you drink, your driving skills are impaired and you could face an arrest for DUI with little to no warning.
When a DWI occurs, you no doubt feel ashamed, embarrassed, and scared. This is normal as DUI penalties can be severe and if it is a second or third offense, you face lengthy jails times. Do not go through the legal process for a DUI alone. Allow a Little Rock DUI lawyer to help you with your case. They can help you understand the laws for DWI charges and guide you through the court’s legal system. You will have a Little Rock DWI lawyer that understands your rights and will fight to get you the minimum penalties in your case.
Unfortunately, a DWI charge will not go away. But, your Arkansas DUI lawyer can help you receive reduced penalties in your case. This can mean less time behind bars and reduced monetary penalties.
When you work with a DWI lawyer, they can show proof that you are taking the necessary steps to end your addiction alcohol (if applicable) and prevent a DUI arrest again in your future. There are alcohol assessments and education that can help to establish you are taking the right steps to mediate your behaviors. Your DWI lawyer can advise you on the steps you need to take to show the court that you are making the necessary arrangements to deal with your addiction to alcohol. They will ask the court to consider these measures and fight to get you reduced penalties in your DWI case.
What Are the Arkansas DUI Penalties?
The penalties for DUI in Arkansas are serious, and you need awareness of what you type of sentencing you are facing when you get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol. The monetary penalties and required jail time increase with each DWI offense.
A first-time DUI offense in Arkansas requires 24 hours to one year in jail. This is in addition to losing your driving privileges for six months and a fine of $150 to $1000. The penalties are at the judge’s discretion based upon the egregiousness of your DWI and the events surrounding the arrest. Community service is often suggested instead of jail time and reinstatement of your license may occur with the installation of an ignition interlock device. A DUI lawyer can facilitate this request during your court hearing.
When charged with a second offense DWI, you face seven days to one year in jail. You may have a fine of $400 to $3,000 and your license may be suspended for up to two years. After 12 months, the court may allow an ignition interlock device to be installed in your vehicle for operation during the last 12 months of your penalty. You also may perform 30 days of community service instead of serving jail time in some cases. A Little Rock DUI lawyer can suggest this to the court to replace your jail sentence.
If arrested for a third offense of DUI, you will serve 90 days to one year in jail. The fine for this offense is $900 to $5,000. License privileges are suspended for 30 months. If the court allows, you may receive 90 days of community service in lieu of jail time. The court may also request an ignition interlock device be placed in your vehicle after 12 months. Working with a DUI lawyer can help you receive the minimum penalty for your third DUI offense by fighting for you to receive community service and your driving license reinstated with an ignition interlock device instead of jail time and full suspension of your driving privileges.
In the event that arrest occurs for a fourth DWI offense, you are facing severe and stringent penalties from the court. Receiving a fourth DWI charge will put a felony on your record for life. This can drastically alter your future and could cause you to lose your job. Your possible jail time increases with one to six years behind bars. You fine ranges from $900 to $5,000 and you will lose your license for four years.
In some instances, the court will allow a fourth offense DWI charge offender to complete one year of community service in place of going to jail. An ignition interlock device needs installation on your vehicle for operation. Your Little Rock DWI lawyer can request leniency from the court to allow you to serve the least amount of jail time as possible.
In Arkansas, there is a five-year look-back period for all DWI offenses. This means that a DUI charge will stay on your record for a total of five years and be counted towards a second, third or fourth offense if arrested again. After five years, a DWI arrest does not count towards another DUI charge.
These penalties increase significantly when a minor is in the vehicle when arrested for a DWI. On the first offense of this occurrence, there is a requirement of seven days to one year in jail. A second offense where a minor is involved in your DWI includes 30 days to one year in jail. A third offense faces 120 days to one year in jail, and a fourth DWI offense with a minor in the vehicle will receive two to six years in jail at the minimum.
Little Rock Implied Consent Laws for DUI
Arkansas does have an implied consent law that requires drivers to submit to a chemical test. You consent to this requirement at the time that you sign your driver’s license and there are penalties in place for violating this law.
The state uses chemical tests to measure the amount of alcohol or drugs in your body at the time of arrest. Waiting to take a chemical test could reduce these levels by the time the test is administered, which is why there are severe penalties in place for refusing to submit to the test when presented. Penalties for refusing a chemical test include loss of your driver’s license for six months to three years depending on what offense it is in your case. You also will not have the option of installing an ignition interlock device for operation of your vehicle under a restricted license for refusing a chemical test.
The High Costs of a Little Rock DWI
DWI charges are costly, and they include more than just the fine levied to you in our DUI case as part of your penalty. You are also responsible for paying for all the probation fees, surcharges, and court fees. If an ignition interlock device is installed in your vehicle, you are responsible for the cost of installation as well as the monthly reporting costs.
As part of your penalties, you will also need to attend alcohol or substance counseling required by the court. These classes are attended at your own cost and may require attendance at a victim impact panel if the court orders you to go as part your sentencing.
You will also need to pay for reinstatement of your driver’s license at the end of your suspension and any additional legal costs that you endure over the course of your DWI arrest and sentencing.
Driving Under the Influence of Drugs in Arkansas
Driving under the influence of drugs is also prohibited in Arkansas and subject to the same penalties as a driving while under the influence of alcohol offense. Prohibited drugs include all controlled substances that are illegal for use by the government.
Your alcohol-related offenses and your drugged driving charges will count together and could give you multiple offenses of DWI. When arrested for DUI where drugs are involved, a Little Rock DWI lawyer can help you through the legal process and work to get your penalties reduced in your case. Speak to an Arkansas DUI lawyer as soon as possible after your arrest.
It is also against the law in Arkansas to refuse a chemical test when arrested for driving under the influence of drugs. You will face the same penalties as someone who was driving under the influence of alcohol.
Little Rock DWI Felony Charges
When arrested for your fourth offense DWI, a mandatory felony will appear on our record. This criminal charge is devastating and can cause great upheaval in your life. It could cause you to lose your job, especially if you drive for a living. Your DUI felony will appear in an employer’s background check and may prevent you from enhancing your career through a new employer. Even if you do not plan to switch jobs anytime soon, your employer has the right to perform a background check on you at any time and your felony will reveal itself. You could lose your job because of it.
A felony charge can also prevent admittance to college as schools look for role model students without criminal records. In addition, if you are not a natural U.S. citizen, you could face deportation as a result.
You will lose your right to bear arms and own a weapon of any kind as you will not pass a background check from a gun dealer. You may also have an issue finding adequate housing as employers refrain from accepting your application based on your past history. This could make it difficult to find suitable living arrangements that are up to your standard.
You have a lot to lose with a felony charge on your record. That is why it is important to speak to a Little Rock DUI lawyer about your options. They can advise you on what course of action they can take with your DWI case and give you the best opportunity to reduce the amount of jail time you serve. An Arkansas DUI lawyer can provide you the answers to your questions about your DWI arrest and walk you through the court process that you will endure in the near future. They will help to limit your penalties and guide you through the complex process of your court hearing for sentencing.
Consult with a Little Rock DUI Lawyer Today About Your Case
When arrested for driving while under the influence, you need a Little Rock DWI lawyer that can help. The DUI attorneys at Denton & Zachary can advise you on your legal rights and help you get the minimum penalties in your DWI case. A DUI lawyer will fight for your rights in court and get you the justice you deserve. The first step is to contact us for a consultation.